Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



My first book  Cover Image Book Book

My first book / Honor Levy.

Levy, Honor, (author.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780593656532
  • ISBN: 0593656539
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Publisher: New York : Penguin Press, 2024.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"From groundbreaking debut author Honor Levy, stories to delight and ensnare Walking the wire between imagination and confession, My First Book captures both our cultural moment and the feeling of growing up in the internet generation. Debut author Honor Levy's uniquely riveting voice emerges from the chaos of coming of age in the 21st century, only having lived in a post-internet world. Never far from a digital interface, Levy's characters grapple with formative political, existential, and romantic experiences in a web-drenched world simultaneously hyper-real, hyper-performative, and on the brink of collapse. Amid the sense of imminent catastrophe, a fragile self struggles to form. Wildly inventive, always ambitious, and frequently surreal, the stories of My First Book are a mirrorball onto the world as it is. Levy's prose illuminates what it is to be at once adorable, special, heavily medicated, consistently panicked, and completely sincere. "I'd rather do Xanax than cut myself. No, I'd rather do Xanax then cut myself," one protagonist muses, while another discovers the infinite nature of love, another reminisces about sunsets that were "pinker, like way pinker," and another encounters God in a downtown video game arcade. To find and keep faith is the order of the day-but how? For readers of Patricia Lockwood, Bret Easton Ellis, and the depths of the internet, and for anyone who would like to see Generation Z from the inside out, My First Book holds the key. And in capturing the experience of an entire generation, it marks the arrival of an electric new talent"-- Provided by publisher.
Genre: Short stories.

Available copies

  • 1 of 2 copies available at Bibliomation. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at C.H. Booth Library - Newtown.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 2 total copies.
Sort by distance from:
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
C.H. Booth Library - Newtown FIC LEV (Text) 34014152245024 Adult New Fiction Available -

Loading...

Additional Resources